We are Proudly South African
Home / Archived / Small Screen Archives / Dancing with the Stars SA Final

Dancing with the Stars SA Final

Who will be the First King and Queen of the SA Dance Floor?

Connell Cruise and Marcella SolimeoConnell Cruise, Eden Classens, Zola Nombona and their dancing partners will battle it out in the Dancing With The Stars SA finale during this Sunday’s live broadcast on M-Net.  Team Connell and Team Zola both survived a Dance-Off throughout the season, with Team Eden being in that dull position more than once.

Judging by last Sunday’s surprising semi-final, viewers can expect nothing but fireworks this week when the King and Queen of the ballroom will be announced in the grand finale of the first season of M-Net’s Dancing With The Stars SA.

After occupying the top of the leader board for many weeks, and receiving the first 10 out of 10 score from tough judge Tebogo Kgobokoe, singer and songwriter Connell Cruise and his dancing partner Marcella Solimeo found themselves in the dreaded dance-off last week against netball goal shooter Vanes-Mari du Toit and Johannes Radebe, who sadly left the competition, making way for the final three.

Zola Nombona with Tebogo MashiloThe outcome of the competition is now completely in the hands of the voting public. And, to give viewers more time to have their say, M-Net has added an extra voting period leading up to the final show on Sunday 22, April.

Fans could have voted for their favourites during a special pre-finalé voting period which was opened on Sunday, 15 April, at 21:00. This voting period was open until 22:00 on Wednesday.  But fans who did not vote, will have their usual limit of 200 votes per again on Sunday.  100 Votes on the website, and another 100 on the Mobi-platform.

Live voting for the final show will reopen at 17:00 on Sunday, 22 April and will close (slightly earlier than usual) at 18:15 ahead of the winner announcement just before 19:00.  There will therefore not be a Results Show at 20:00, which means this season of Dancing with the Stars South Africa, will conclude during the two hour primetime broadcast on M-Net.

Eden Classens and Ash-Leigh HunterThe vote count and ranking of contestants is done according to the international format rules and was independently computed by Deloitte and Touche and confirmed against the vote results determined by M-Net.  Even though judges Debbie Turner, Bryan Watson, Tebogo Kgobokoe and Jason Gilkison will for the last time lift their scoring batons, their scores will not count in this week’s final.  The results will be made up out of the public votes during the early phase, which was from Sunday to Wednesday, combined with the public votes during the live show phase, which will be open for 75 minutes on Sunday during the live broadcast.

There will be no dance-off during the final, as the winner will be announced by hosts Christopher Jaftha and Tracey Lange, out of the three contesting pairs.

Dancing with the Stars SA is produced for M-Net by Rapid Blue and is sponsored by Lottostar. Join the conversation on the Dancing with the Stars SA Facebook pageor on Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #DWTSSA.


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top